Talking Heads have announced a 40th anniversary deluxe edition of their iconic live album ‘Stop Making Sense’.

  • READ MORE: Talking Heads: Every album ranked in order of greatness

Four decades after the classic concert album and live film, the set is being re-released this summer as a 2LP and 2CD/Blu-ray set.

Following the deluxe edition of the soundtrack that sold out upon release last year, the album returns July 26 as 2LP black vinyl at and retail and as 2LP crystal clear vinyl at Barnes and Noble. Both variants come with a 12-page booklet containing liner notes from all four members of the band, as well as band photos. Visit here to pre-order.

Meanwhile, the 2CD/Blu-ray version comes with the full 28-page booklet from last year’s edition, as well as a Dolby Atmos mix of the full concert, mixed by Jerry Harrison and ET Thorngren, who also mixed the original release .

The new wave pioneers first released the film, directed by Jonathan Demme, in 1984 and shot over four nights at the Hollywood Pantages Theater in Los Angeles, California, in December 1983. The film features performances from some of their most celebrated songs, including ‘Psycho Killer’ and ‘Burning the House Down’.

Last week the band appeared together for a screening and Q&A at Pantages. Actor Andy Richter hosted, while there was a performance by Blondshell. There will also be another screening on June 13 at the King’s Theater in New York City, with a question and answer session hosted by Questlove and a performance by The Linda Lindas.

The announcement comes just weeks after the band’s drummer, Chris Frantz, teased on Instagram that the band was returning to the theater. Frantz posted an image of a black and white theater marquee with the banner reading “TALKING HEADS.”

The tribute album ‘Everyone’s Getting Involved: A Tribute To Stop Making Sense’ was also released last month (May 17). The song-by-song tribute album featured covers of Miley Cyrus, Paramore, Lorde, The National and Girl In Red, among others.

The re-released sets will be available from July 26, but you can pre-order them now.

The tracklist of ‘Stop Making Sense’ is:

Side one
1. ‘Psycho Killer’
2. ‘Heaven’
3. ‘Thank you for sending me an angel’
4. ‘Found a job’
5. ‘Smooth People’
6. ‘Cities’

Side two
7. ‘Burning Down the House’
8. ‘Life in wartime’
9. ‘Make Flippy Floppy’
10. ‘Swamp’

Side three
11. ‘What a day that was’
12. ‘This must be the place (naive melody)’
13. ‘Once in a Lifetime’
14. ‘Big Business / I Zimbra’

Side four
15. ‘The Genius of Love’
16. ‘Girlfriend is better’
17. ‘Take Me to the River’
18. ‘Cross-eyed and painless’

Meanwhile, Talking Heads frontman David Byrne shared a newly discovered collaboration with new wave icons Devo this week, sharing 1997’s ‘Empire’ as part of a charity compilation benefiting independent abortion providers in the US.